Patron: The Rt. Revd Paul Bayes, Bishop of Liverpool.

Trustees and membership

Under its constitution the Trust has a membership with trustees chosen from its membership. Its trustees are responsible for the day-to-day operation of the charity and for the correct use of all money donated to it.

Trustees are volunteers, and as such are unpaid. Membership is open to both people and organisations for a small membership fee - presently £5. Membership fees enable the trust to guarantee that there is no deductions from donations to meet the cost of running the trust except for small amounts notified to donors - as an example all child sponsorship includes a charge of £1.00 to cover costs associated with postage.

Application forms for membership are available by following the links - individual membership, organisational membership.

We are happy to tell you who our trustees are. If you wish to contact a trustee please use the contact us page, saying who you want to contact.

Alan Powell - Secretary

Alan Powell, Secretary

Alan began his career as a computer pioneer in 1965 then moving through finance and industrial relations became Personnel Director of Trinity International Holdings then Managing Director of Trinity Weekly Newspapers. In 1987 he transferred to the packaging industry and became President of Danisco Pack producing corrugated and polystyrene packaging materials in the UK, Denmark, Germany and Norway. 

Alan, a Trustee since 2006, has made several visits to Shyira and, in addition to our work in health and education, he has a particular interest in developing sustainable income generation projects such as the coffee plantation to help lift the local economy out of poverty.

Allan Hobson - Chairman

Allan Hobson MBE, Chairman

Allan is a Chartered Engineer and Emeritus Professor of Liverpool John Moores University. He went to Rwanda in August 2000 with a group from Mid Africa Ministry, an Anglican charity, and visited Shyira. On his return home he told people at St. Luke's about Shyira. The result was a visit to Shyira by ten church members the following year. The work in Shyira developed from that visit.

Allan has worked with schools and the Rotary club of Formby, as well as other organisations, telling about Rwanda, and helping them develop links with people or organisations in Rwanda.

He has been awarded an MBE for "Services to the Community in Liverpool and Rwanda."

Hugh Dixon - Treasurer



Jane Morgan - Trustee

Jane Morgan, trustee and midwife

Jane is head of midwifery education at Edge Hill university and has taken a lead in the work the Trust has done to support maternity provision in Shyira. Her work has been recognised by the award of an MBE for services to midwifery in the UK and to Maternity Service Provision in Shyira, Rwanda.


John McGibbon - Trustee



Pete Morgan - Gift Aid



Trustees are elected and serve for a term of three years. They can be re-elected to serve for a maximum of three terms. Two trustees are elected from the membership of St. Luke's church and three from trust members.

The Chairman is elected annually from the membership. Re-election of the same person is permitted, but the elected person must be less than 75 years of age.

Trustees are required to have clearance under the relevant safeguarding legislation.